Our Mission

The Shaker Schools Foundation provides essential resources to enrich the educational experiences of students of the Shaker Heights City Schools, with four main areas of focus: Academics, Fine and Performing Arts, Athletics, Opportunity Assistance.
The Shaker Schools Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Our History

Established in 1981, the Shaker Schools Foundation was one of the first in the nation to raise funds for a public school system. Since then, we have raised more than $3 million to support the tradition of excellence that sets the Shaker schools apart. Through the robust support of individual donors, community partners, and grants from local and national foundations, we are able to make a difference in the lives of all Shaker students at every grade level throughout the District.

Our Staff

Holly Coughlin, Executive Director
Laura Orazi, Director of Development
Erica Verderber, Senior Administrative Assistant
Jennifer Proe, Social Media and Marketing Associate
Holly Wang, Development Associate
Sharon Galin, Alumni Liaison

Board of Trustees

Dorothea Polster, President
Stasia Vavruska, Vice President
Doug Wang, Treasurer
Dr. Philip Shands, Secretary

Eileen Anderson
Cathy Belk
Pawan K. Divakarla
Mark Freeman
Steven Goldfarb
Fiona Green
Ayesha Bell Hardaway
Richard Hubbard
Amy Kerr Thome

William McGovern
Lisa Nersesian Richardson
Paul Sauerland
Brian Sullivan
Annette Tucker Sutherland
Fred Widen
Tom Wise
Cathy Zbanek

Advisory Committee

Nancy Karr, Chair
Jennifer Lawry Adams
Joanie Adler
Jamie Babbit
Anne Borchert
Maxine Isaacs

Kathy Jones
Peter Lawson Jones
Cliff Mendelsohn
Barb Miller
K.J. Montgomery
Chris Nance
Margie Newman

Zach Paris
Terry Pollack
Deborah Ratner, Emeritus
Ronald Ratner
Susie Ratner
Robin Weaver