Students, Teachers, 

and Parents

to the 2021-22 School Year!


“A new school year means

new beginnings, new adventures,

new friendships, and new challenges.

The slate is clean and

anything can happen.”


-Denise Witmer


The Shaker Schools Foundation supports all Shaker Heights City Schools students
by cultivating community resources to advance equitable access
and enhance opportunities in and out of the classroom.

The Shaker Schools Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Our History

Now celebrating our 40th year, the Shaker Schools Foundation has long been a pioneer in public education philanthropy. Since then, we have raised more than $7.5 million to support the tradition of excellence that sets the Shaker schools apart.

Through the robust support of individual donors, community partners, and grants from local and national foundations, we are able to make a difference in the lives of all Shaker students at every grade level throughout the District.

Our Board of Trustees

Stasia Vavruska, President
Carter Strang, Vice President
Cathy Belk, Treasurer
Cathy Zbanek, Secretary

Jennifer Lawry Adams
Eileen Anderson
Michael Bowen
Lawrence Burnley
Pawan K. Divakarla
Mark Freeman (Life Trustee)
David Glasner
Christopher Hunter
Jeffrey Isaacs

Tricia Khayat
Ramona Lowery
Cliff Mendelsohn
Dorothea Polster
Lisa Nersesian Richardson
Philip Rowland-Seymour
Doug Wang
Brittany Webb

Advisory Committee

Anne Borchert, Co-chair
Nancy Karr, Co-chair
Joanie Adler
Jamie Babbit
Maxine Isaacs
Kathryn Jones
Peter Lawson Jones

Jane Kirkhoff
Barb Miller
Michele Minter
K.J. Montgomery
Chris Nance
Marjorie Newman
Zachary Paris
Terry Pollack

Deborah Ratner, Emeritus
Ronald Ratner
Susan Ratner
Robin Weaver
Caroline Weingart
Steve Weitzner
Mariama Whyte

Shaker Schools Foundation, 15600 Parkland Drive, Shaker Heights, Ohio 44120

216-295-4329 / orazi_l@shaker.org